The Blacktones have consciously changed things up from their previous album, and as such, the new album The Day We Shut Down The Sun contains more aggressive songs with strong guitar arrangements imbued with accessible complexity. Vocals choruses are temporarily abandoned to allow screams and growls to enforce the groovy riffs while enforcing the melodic moments.

The songs themselves have different themes (stories like Nowhere Man and the title track, or personal reflections such as I.D.I.O.T.S) but are placed on the albums track list as an imaginary path to “the end of existence”. Like a countdown, the experimental intros between songs are named like tarot cards. Each one represents the loss of a human feature, until the last card, The Fool, which represents the void.

The Album Concept:
In it’s self, The Day We Shut Down The Sun is not a true concept, but every song represents a step by step journey to the losing of all the qualities of a human being. Following the tarots (starting with the pope, the fifth card) we represent the losing of faith, wisdom, genius, knowledge and finally, trough the Mage, we become the Fool, embracing the primordial chaos.

The Blacktones
Formed in Cagliari, Italy on March of 2011, The Blacktones started life as an instrumental band from an idea of Sergio Boi and Gianni Farci. The style of the band has been influenced by the Stoner/Grunge/Metal wave of the nineties and so on, with the addition of poly-rhythms. The ultimate sound of the band is dark and gloomy, with the insertion of granite-like riffs. The Blacktones have already released an EP and album in 2012 and 2015 respectively.

The Day We Shut Down The Sun | Released November 21st, 2017 on Sliptrick Records

Track Listing:
01. v The Pope | 02. The Upside Down | 03. Ghosts | 04. iv The Emperor | 05. The Day We Shut Down The Sun | 06. Not The End | 07. iii The Empress | 08. Alone Together | 09. I.D.I.O.T.S. | 10. ii The Popess | 11. Nowhere Man | 12. Broken Dove | 13. i The Magician | 14. o The Fool

All Songs Written and arranged by The Blacktones, except tracks 1,4,7,10,13,14 by Paolo Mulas. Lyrics by Aaron Tolu.

Recorded in 2017 at V-Studio. Mixed by Jim Pinder at Treehouse Studio. Mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege Studio. The beautiful artwork is by Andrea Cara.

The Blacktones are: 
Aaron Tolu – Vocals | Sergio Boi – Guitar | Paolo Mulas – Guitar | Maurizio Mura – Drums | Gianni Farci – Bass

Band links: Facebook | Youtube